top of page


A Brief History

The Councils on Chiropractic Education International (CCEI) was established in 2001 by the world’s regional chiropractic accrediting agencies (CCEs). These member agencies combined their efforts to collaborate, assure excellence and consistent quality improvement in chiropractic education through accreditation.

Accreditation is an important quality assurance and quality improvement mechanism for chiropractic professional education. The quality of accreditation standards and assessment of programmes against those standards provides assurance that the education provider produces a competent graduate with the knowledge, skills and professional attributes to practice in the profession. In recognising the need for internationally accepted standards, the Councils on Chiropractic Education International (CCEI) acknowledges that education systems are part of the richly diverse and innovative cultures of a geographic jurisdiction. The accreditation process thus respects the autonomy of the educational programme, national legislation and regulations, and acknowledges that there is no single best way to produce a competent chiropractor. Specific policies, procedures and even educational requirements, may vary to a certain extent as they reflect local academic traditions and/or legislation in a jurisdiction. Adherence to internationally accepted standards also helps facilitate recognition of students and graduates across member agency regions.

As chiropractic continues to expand outside areas covered by the current member agencies, the CCEI is available to assist with the development of additional member agencies or inquiries related to educational standards and accreditation.

​View our Strategic Plan

About: About Us
About: Who We Are

Officers and Board of Directors

The CCEI Executive Committee


Terry Crisp BAppSc, DNBCE

Vice President

Lynn Shaw,  PhD, OT


Mark Webster BSc, DC, MSc, FBCA, FRCC, FEAC, SFHE

The CCEI Board of Directors

Nominated by the Council on Chiropractic Education Australasia

Terry Crisp BAppSc, DNBCE

Sonya Fogerty BSc, Grad Dip Chiro, DO

Nominated by the European Council on Chiropractic Education

Mark Webster BSc, DC, MSc, FBCA, FRCC, FEAC, SFHE

Cynthia Peterson, RN, DC, DACBR, M.Med.Ed.

Nominated by the Federation of Canadian Chiropractic

Council on Chiropractic Education Canada

Lynn Shaw,  PhD, OT

Darryl Kashton, BSc. D.C.

Associate Members

Council on Chiropractic Education Latin America

Dr. Joseph Bush, President, Panama

Dr. Noe Velazquez, Vice-President, Mexico

Dr. Gabriela Flores - Secretary, Guatemala

Dr. Mayda Serrano, Treasurer, Puerto Rico

Dr. Percy Montaño, Board Director

Dr. Ana Faccinato, Board Director

Dr. Sira Borges - Executive Director

Dr. Ricardo Fujikawa- Special Advisor

bottom of page